29 Nov How long do I have to file a claim for Workers’ Compensation benefits?
How long do I have to file a claim for Workers’ Compensation benefits?
A: The Statute of Limitations or the time period in which you must file a claim for New Jersey Workers’ Compensation benefits is generally two (2) years from the date of the accident. In rare cases the time period may be extended to file a claim petition within 2 years of the failure of the employee to receive payment in accordance with an agreement between the employer and the employee, or within 2 years of the last payment of any compensation by an employer for a work-related injury. As a rule of thumb, always make sure that a claim petition is filed on your behalf and filed on your behalf within 2 years from the date of the accident.
Q: How does my Workers’ Compensation case get filed with the State of New Jersey?
A: The actual claim is filed on line using a Workers’ Compensation Claim Petition form which is filed with the State of New Jersey, Division of Labor.
Q: What information do I need to assist the attorney in completing the Claim Petition form in New Jersey?
A: In order to assist the attorney in completing the Workers’ Compensation Claim Petition form, you will need the following information:
– Your Social Security Number, name, address, including county;
– The name and address, including county, of your employer;
– If possible, the name, address and claim number of your employer’s worker’s
compensation insurance company;
– The date of the accident, the location of the accident; the description of
how the injury occurred;
– A description of your occupation;
– The date you stopped work and the date you returned to work, if you have,
in fact, returned to work;
– A description of your sex, date of birth, marital status;
– The date the injury was reported to your employer and to whom;
– A copy of your pay stub or information concerning how much you earned,
including your gross weekly wages.Get consultation